Remember how I was wondering about whether Kai #2, the director of the German dub might also have been involved with translating the script?
Well, I recently got this fact confirmed via three (!) different sources, one of them being the homepage of dear Nico, the guy who knows Kai personally and who miraculously reappeared our of nowhere a day before I left for Italy.
So, yes. He did translate at least some of the scripts. Holy... O_O
Can't wait to see how well he managed to do this. Well, I'm not too afraid of the directing aprt because he's one of our best voice actors, so if there's one thing he'll be able to do is to teach others ;) The translating part, on the other hand... it sure is one hell of a job. Honestly, I wouldn't even wanna try. So I hope Kai is even more of a genius than I thought.
Well, I guess there goes my final reason for maybe not getting the German DVDs once they're out.
Speaking of DVDs, according to amazon.de, the
season 1 box will be released on March 13, 2008. However, KSM, the company that is supposed to produce them, didn't announce anything yet. So either amazon Germany knows things that everyone else doesn't, or they just made it all up.
Also, I found the German episode titles. These seem to be the official ones because the source is the FSK (the people doing the rating).
Before I inflict them on you, I'll have tot ell you some general facts about the way German dubbers translate episode titles... or rather, do not translate.
For some reason, many dubbers seem to feel they're more creative than the people who originally thought of the episode titles, so, instead of just translating them, they make up totally new ones. Often, it seems they think the titles don't relate as much to the actual episode as they should, even though sometimes, that's a good thing because it'd give important elements away. I mean, the original creators surely had their reasons for naming the episodes the way they did. But who cares, we're the dubbers and we'll just do whatever we want. Ugh.
A very,
very bad case of this "unimaginative inventing syndrome" (I just thought of this name, and I think it fits perfectly XD) is that rather successful series called Hosue, MD. From what I have seen, most of the titles have nothing to do with the English ones, and, if you know what the episode is about, even spoil some of its content. What the...?! Not to mention the whole dub is one hell of a rushed job. Hamburg dubbing, bleh >:P
However, with Doctor Who, whoever was responsible for doing the episode titles, did the right thing. For once.
( Look at that. Well done! )