jessybxx: (Default)
([personal profile] jessybxx Feb. 10th, 2004 06:17 pm)
Here goes.



1. Introduction

Horrorskop was most probably shot in 2000. Bela still has his "pre-makeover" teeth which, to my opinion, look much better than the new ones and his hair is jet-black. The show was done for 13th Street, one of the channels in Germany's only Pay TV network, Premiere. There are twelve episodes, starting with a general introduction to one star sign and predictions for all of them. Of course, they should not be taken seriously (compare the crappy pun in the title), because the whole thing is more or less just for fun. By the way, 13th Street is still broadcasting it after almost four years, so it seems to be quite popular among the audience.

2. Bela's role

Refering to Bela as the host of the show is not quite right. He is merely playing a role, which is that of Ophiuchus (the Serpent Holder), the lost thirteenth sign of the zodiac. The whole concept of the show is directed towards him announcing the (rather catastrophic) fate of the other signs, which is extremely amusing.

3. Bela's costume



One of the best aspects of the show. Especially his hands are... wow. It seems that the camera people thought so as well cause there are lots of close-ups on them. I made a cap that shows his rings (The one with the ears even sprouted a discussion on the official DÄ message board as everybody loves it and wants one as well) and the way they treated his fingernails.



So cool! As he plays the Serpent Holder, there is of course a live snake around his neck. That cute animal sometimes goes strange ways around his body, but Bela doesn't seem to care. The sceptre in his left hand looks a bit like the one he had in the "Laila" movie but I'm not sure about that. Overall, I simply can't get enough of him in that look.



4. Bela's acting

For that, I'd just need one word: Evil! Usually, bad people become even more threatening when they're very quiet. And Bela seems to know that and acts exactly like that. He also plays with the camera a lot, looking at it from different angles. I noticed that in the "Laila" movie as well, but here it is even more impressing because he is on his own.



But hey, our guy is also very good at not looking at the camera, especially at the end of a sequence. Another cap to show what I mean:



5. The show

Every sign has a short introductory sequence. I like those very much as they're quite surreal and artistic. As I said, each episode starts off with a general introduction to one of the signs of the zodiac. Ophiuchus explains how negative the character of that sign is and he even gives an example for a celebrity born under that sign. Next, there are announcements for all of the signs, mainly about stuff that will happen to them in the coming month. Of course, they're not quite optimistic, and basically they sound as if everybody was doomed. Or rather doomed in a very funny way, or have you ever heard of a Aries person eaten by a yeti?

6. Humour

Whoever wrote the texts for this show, he/she knew how to do it. Apart from being negative without a single exception, they're as funny and black as German humour could possibly get. Example: When Ophiuchus talked about the fate of Cancer, it was mainly about becoming part of a soup *lol* And Bela almost always displays the right attitude, which adds to the general impression.

7. And finally... Who the hell is that woman?



Well... I'd like to know that, too. Let's say she's some sort of slave servant. I tend to ignore her anyway.



I hope that was enlightening. And if not, at least /me had fun writing it :P

From: [identity profile] spiderwhite.livejournal.com


damn my being american and living so far away from all this good stuff. *sigh* lol. i had fun reading it. :)

From: [identity profile] dienacht.livejournal.com


*hangs self* Now Bela's always been my favourite...man ever, I have no trouble admitting that. But when I see him wrapped in my favourite animal, being a snake, then I start to get angry because THAT'S IS FAR TOO SEXY AND JUST PLAIN WRONG!!!

*walks away angrilly before I smash the computer screen for being too handsome*
ext_6531: (Default)

From: [identity profile] lizbee.livejournal.com

Re:


That woman bears an uncanny resemblance to you, Cara.

*stares*

*doesn't stare at Bela*

*takes a peek*

*runs from Cara's wrath*

From: [identity profile] dienacht.livejournal.com


She WISHES she was me. Or do I wish I was her...anmyway, this whole thing outrages me. I mean really, where is MY Bela wrapped in a snake!?

From: [identity profile] dancing-moon.livejournal.com


*stares* Whoa *discretly wipes away some drool*

Another DÄ thing I had no idea existed and now want. A lot!
You don't know if one can buy old eps of this series, do you?

Thanks for the wonderful screencaps!

From: [identity profile] jessybxx.livejournal.com

Re:


Well, you can buy excactly one episode on that (http://www.amazon.de/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00009WAPO/qid=1076497573/sr=2-1/ref=sr_aps_prod_1_1/028-6470896-2532555) DVD. This is where my screenshots are from.
The others are still shown on TV.

From: [identity profile] quantesque.livejournal.com


Oh Oh, you didn't half make [livejournal.com profile] therissole's day.

*claps* Thanks for that, tho. He's so...I can't get over the nails.

From: [identity profile] slash-kitten.livejournal.com


i remember to have had similar nails this halloween myself^^

From: [identity profile] zonenzombie.livejournal.com


omg, thanks!

I love you, I love him...AAAH!!
.

Profile

jessybxx: (Default)
jessybxx

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags